American Bandstand: Emmys to Honor TV Show and Host Dick Clark

American BandstandThis year’s Daytime Emmy Awards are scheduled to be held this Sunday, June 27th. The ceremony that honors talk shows, soap operas and children’s programming was traditionally held in New York but moved to Los Angeles in 2006. This time, they’ll be held in Las Vegas which means that almost all of the presenters and nominees will have to fly in from out of town.

As part of the festivities, there will be a tribute to American Bandstand and venerable host and producer Dick Clark. Ryan Seacrest will introduce the tribute and stars scheduled to take part include Donny Osmond, Chubby Checker, Tony Orlando and The Jersey Boys.

Various incarnations of American Bandstand ran on local stations, in syndication, and on ABC from 1952 until 1987. Clark hosted the show from 1956 until the late 1980s. He received a Daytime Emmy Lifetime Achievement Award in 1994 and produced the broadcast for many years.

Others scheduled to take part in the rest of the festivities include Wayne Brady, Jeff Foxworthy, Vanessa Marcil, Alex Trebek, Rachael Ray, Zack Conroy, Jonathan Jackson, Rebecca Budig, Sharon Case, Michael Easton, Jon Hensley, Kelley Menighan Hensley, Susan Lucci, Chris Massey, Kyle Massey, Cameron Mathison, Kimberly Matula, Laura McKenzie, Kelly Monaco, Joshua Morrow, Ronn Moss, Peter Reckell, Trevor St. John, Louise Sorel, and Montel Williams.

The Emmys telecast, hosted by Regis Philbin, will be broadcast live from the Las Vegas Hilton on Sunday at 9pm on CBS.

Canceled and renewed TV show

Leave a Comment

Your comment may need approval from a moderator before it appears. We review comments to weed out spam, duplicate postings and personal attacks. We welcome constructive discussion.