The Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries

 The Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew MysteriesNetwork: ABC
Episodes: 46 (half-hour)
Seasons: Three

TV show dates: January 30, 1977 — January 14, 1979
Series status: Cancelled/ended

Performers include: Pamela Sue Martin, Parker Stevenson, Shaun Cassidy, and Ed Gilbert.

TV show description:      
Based on the popular children’s mystery books, this series follows the adventures of teenage detectives Nancy Drew (Pamela Sue Martin) and brothers Frank and Joe Hardy (Parker Stevenson and Shaun Cassidy) as they solve a variety of cases.

Nancy is a “part time investigator” and the daughter of attorney Carson Drew (William Schallert). She solves cases with the help of friends George “Georgia” Fayne (Jean Rasey, later Susan Buckner) and Ned Nickerson (George O. Hanlon Jr.), and Bess Marvin (Ruth Cox). They live in the fictional community of River Heights which is close to the Hardy boys’ hometown of Bayport.

Frank and Joe follow in the footsteps of their world-renowned investigator father Fenton Hardy (Ed Gilbert). Other characters include Aunt Gertrude (Edith Atwater), platonic friend Callie Shaw (Lisa Eilbacher), federal agent Harry Gibbon (Phillip R. Allen), and CIA operative Harry Hammond (Jack Kelly).

The mysteries on this series are usually nonviolent and typically include uncovering smugglers, exposing hoaxes, and finding missing persons. The cases of Nancy and the Hardys typically alternate week by week but the sleuths sometimes work together.

Canceled and renewed TV show

Leave a Comment

Your comment may need approval from a moderator before it appears. We review comments to weed out spam, duplicate postings and personal attacks. We welcome constructive discussion.