Pin It
TV shows on DVD

Switched at Birth: How Many New Episodes Are Coming?

Switched at Birth VANESSA MARANOAfter a very successful debut last summer, ABC Family ordered 22 more first season episodes of Switched at Birth. Added to the initial 10 installments, that brings the first season total to a whopping 32 episodes.

ABC Family recently renewed Switched at Birth for a second season but they didn’t indicate how many episodes had been ordered. In a recent interview with star Vanessa Marano, the actress mentioned how many second season installments are on the way but created some confusion about season one.

Moderator: So what’s been happening? Could you catch us up with what you’ve been up to since last time we spoke, which I think was in December?

V. Marano: Well, let’s see since December we obviously shot the show. We shot the eight episodes that are premiering in the fall. It’s been a lot of that. We just got picked up for a second season of 20 episodes that I’m really excited about. It’s officially our second season so we did 30 episodes of a first season and the second one is around the corner.

The remaining episodes of the first season will start airing on Monday, September 3rd. Based on earlier information, there should be 10 installments but Marano indicates that there are just eight.

We don’t know exactly why the season one order was shortened — we’ve inquired but haven’t heard back yet — but, between seasons one and two, there are 28 new episodes to come.

What do you think? Are you a fan of the Switched at Birth TV series? How long would you like to see the TV show continue?


Newer and/or Related Articles

{ 6 comments… read them below or add one }

Belinda Wilson September 27, 2012 at 5:34 am

Love this show. Keep it coming.


Anonymous August 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Switched at birth is a great show, always with twists and turns. Daphne does her deaf part so wonderfully, and bay is always so entertaining Jane


march crocker September 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

My teenage son and I watch this together, it is brilliant, keep it going


James August 29, 2012 at 4:27 pm

SoB’s Season 1A consisted of 10 episode, 1B that aired during the winter was made up of 12 episodes thus leaving out 8 more installments from the original 30-episode order making up Season 1C.


admin August 29, 2012 at 6:57 pm

James ยป As the article says, ABC Family stated that they initially ordered 10 episodes and then ordered 22 more. That should be 32 episodes but two seem to be missing.


Jean Derosa August 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

One of the very few shows left on TV worth watching……hope it goes on for many more seasons…..the kids are fantastic… of my favorite shows, never miss an episode.


Leave a Comment